Need Advice Working in PowerCADD and AutoCAD

PowerCADD & WildTools
ElizE

Post by ElizE » Wed Oct 02, 2019 7:47 pm

I am looking for advice for working in PowerCADD and AutoCAD. I am a self employed interior designer. My work is all residential; kitchen and bathroom remodels and additions to homes in the SF bay area.

My 2d drafting for permits and construction documents is done in PowerCADD. All 3d work for client presentations is in SketchUp. I am looking to expand my work and freelance for other designers and architects. My problem is I have lost two jobs recently because they wanted me to work in AutoCAD. I have AutoCAD LT for Mac but I am struggling with it. I strongly prefer PowerCADD. I would like to work mostly in PowerCADD then convert to AutoCAD to send out.

Is there anyone who is working in both programs converting back and forth? I realize the line colors need to be light for the AutoCAD black background. I also am having issues with text and groups. I appreciate any advice or best practice.

DavidScottOrkney

Post by DavidScottOrkney » Tue Oct 08, 2019 7:34 am

Hi Elizabeth,

I do quite a lot of exchanging PowerCADD drawings with AutoCAD users- usually consultant engineers.
I find the best and easiest way of working is just to use PowerCADD the way I want to work and then do a Save As… DWG using the most up to date version. Having said that, there a few things I've found that help with the exchange:
Most AutoCAD users now work with a white background so the pen colour is not really an issue. You can assign pen colours to line weights but I've tried doing this and it's very frustrating if you try to work it both ways and I've never got it to work. It's really a legacy thing anyway- back to when there used to be pen plotters.